Saturday, July 02 2016

Early Day Motions

Early Day Motions (EDMs) are motions submitted by MPs for debate in parliament. Very few EDMS are actually tabled for debate in the House but by sponsoring and supporting motions, MPs indicate an interest and concern in a matter or an event sufficient to want to bring the matter to greater attention.

A full listing of EDMs can be searched here.

For EDMs and signatures prior to 1989/90, please contact the House of Commons Information Office 020 7219 4272

The EDMs below state the motion reference, the date it was submitted, the sponsor of the motion, the number of MPs that signed in support of it and their names.

If your MP has sponsored or supported an EDM on a subject of which you feel strongly, why not write and thank him/her for doing this?

If you feel there is a subject that your MP should sponsor or support, why not write to them and ask them to do this?

Some of the EDMs presented in the current and previous parliamentary term (2007 - 2008) can be found below. Further examples can be found in Hansard.

EDM 585      
Burden, Richard      

122 signatures

'That this House is astonished by the refusal of the BBC and Sky to broadcast the Disasters Emergency Committee (DEC) Gaza Crisis Appeal; considers that the explanations given for this decision by BBC spokespersons are both unconvincing and incoherent; and draws attention to the fact that people wishing to obtain information about the Gaza appeal can contact the DEC by visiting'

Abbott, Diane        
Alexander, Danny        
Atkins, Charlotte
Austin, John    
Barrett, John        
Battle, John
Begg, Anne        
Berry, Roger        
Betts, Clive
Bottomley, Peter        
Brake, Tom        
Breed, Colin
Brown, Lyn        
Bruce, Malcolm        
Buck, Karen
Burstow, Paul        
Burt, Lorely        
Caborn, Richard
Campbell, Menzies        
Carmichael, Alistair        
Caton, Martin
Chaytor, David        
Clark, Katy        
Clelland, David
Clwyd, Ann        
Cohen, Harry        
Connarty, Michael
Cook, Frank        
Corbyn, Jeremy        
Cunningham, Jim
Davies, Dai        
Dean, Janet        
Devine, Jim
Dhanda, Parmjit        
Dobbin, Jim        
Dowd, Jim
Drew, David        
Efford, Clive        
Flynn, Paul
Foster, Don        
Francis, Hywel        
Galloway, George
Gapes, Mike        
George, Andrew        
George, Bruce
Gerrard, Neil        
Gibson, Ian        
Griffith, Nia
Gwynne, Andrew        
Hain, Peter        
Hamilton, Fabian
Hancock, Mike        
Hemming, John        
Holmes, Paul
Hopkins, Kelvin        
Horwood, Martin        
Hosie, Stewart
Hughes, Simon        
Iddon, Brian        
Illsley, Eric
Jackson, Glenda        
Jones, Lynne        
Jones, Martyn
Kaufman, Gerald        
Keeble, Sally        
Key, Robert
Kidney, David        
Lamb, Norman        
Lazarowicz, Mark
Leech, John        
Levitt, Tom        
Linton, Martin
Love, Andrew        
Luff, Peter        
MacNeil, Angus
Mahmood, Khalid        
Main, Anne        
Mallaber, Judy
Marshall-Andrews, Robert        
Mason, John        
Meacher, Michael
Michael, Alun        
Moffatt, Laura        
Moore, Michael
Morgan, Julie        
Mulholland, Greg        
Naysmith, Doug
Owen, Albert        
Pelling, Andrew        
Prentice, Gordon
Purchase, Ken        
Reid, Alan        
Robertson, Angus
Robertson, John        
Rooney, Terry        
Rowen, Paul
Russell, Bob        
Salmond, Alex        
Salter, Martin
Sarwar, Mohammad        
Short, Clare        
Singh, Marsha
Slaughter, Andy        
Smith, Robert        
Soames, Nicholas
Soulsby, Peter        
Starkey, Phyllis        
Swinson, Jo
Taylor, Ian        
Teather, Sarah        
Thornberry, Emily
Touhig, Don        
Vaz, Keith        
Walter, Robert
Webb, Steve        
Weir, Mike        
Williams, Betty
Williams, Hywel        
Winnick, David        
Wishart, Pete
Wyatt, Derek

Last Updated on Tuesday, 27 January 2009 11:13

Engage Publications

Books of Interest